What’s More Comforting Than a Good Mac ‘n’ Cheese? A Vegan Version.

8 Mar

Knowing that there are almost infinite cheese-y vegan substitutes for my fave comfort foods is … well, comforting.  Last night I made this recipe from Chef Chloe Coscarelli’s book, Chloe’s Kitchen.  This book has been renewed many times by me, as a local library frequenter.  I check out a million of their vegan cookbooks and keep them forever  until I have to pay fines.  Finally, for Valentines Day, my beau (with some direction from me) went ahead and purchased Chloe’s Kitchen for me so I never have to pay fines again!

Now I have the yummy mac ‘n’ cheese recipe at my real-life fingertips whenever I want – and thanks to the internet, you can have (virtual) fingertip access too! This is sounding a lot like an ad for Chloe, or for libraries, or for the internet.  I don’t know.

1-IMG_2741-001

Anyway, I made the mac ‘n’ cheese and it was cheesy, as it should be.  It starts with a roux and ends with bread crumbs.  Sounds about right to me.  I love how versatile the recipe is too, because it can easily be made soy-free and gluten-free (just use almond or rice instead of soy milk, rice pasta, and gluten-free flour as the base for the roux!).  Mine was full of wheat and soy milk, but hey, the potential is there for just about any kind of dietary needs.

The secret to a cheesy vegan mac ‘n cheese (IMO) is the nutritional yeast.  It’s  got the right flavour and melts into the sauce easily, without clumps.  It’s also a good source of B12 – a vitamin vegan eaters don’t always get enough of (say, if you eat mostly potato chips and pop 😉 ).  I’m not sure how much of the B vitamin the “nooch” contains after cooking, but it’s worth a try!

Mac 'n' Cheese

I enjoyed this before baking, after baking, and then reheated in the microwave and on a bed of spinach (to make it healthier! and more beautiful!).

Have a great weekend, everyone.  Here’s a picture of my cat, just because.

1-IMG_2635

2 Responses to “What’s More Comforting Than a Good Mac ‘n’ Cheese? A Vegan Version.”

  1. Poppy March 8, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

    Hey Sarah, I’m enjoying following your journey! I’m intrigued by this post, as, well, I’m yet to have found a vegan macaroni ‘cheese’ recipe that I like 😦 They never taste anything like macaroni cheese! Was this recipe just nice for its own quality or did it actually have a resemblance to the non-vegan version? Poppy 🙂

    • sarahsmonthofvegan March 8, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      Thanks for enjoying my blog, Poppy! I’m having fun with it. As for this macaroni recipe, I found it did have a lot of resemblance to the original style macaroni and cheese! I liked it better before baking it though, as I found that dried it out too much. I found the taste to be quite ‘cheddar-y’ which I like. Truth be told, my fave mac n cheese is the white cheddar kind, so next time I make a cheesy sauce, I’ll be looking for that version! Thanks for the question 🙂

Leave a Reply

Jennifer Teacher

Learning English in Seoul

Billgogi

A (mostly) photographic record of our journey in the Land of Morning Calm

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

StylFrugal

A Stylish Consignment Boutique

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

Cdnpoetry's Blog

My writing and design projects.

lauriecadmancreative

Just another WordPress.com site

esssleeps

nonthinking

Sarahfina Functional Fitness

Decide, Commit, Succeed - 'Total fitness takes more than a gym!'

industrial home decor ideas

Eating plant-based for 30 days - just because.

TableforMaple

Chartered Accountant, Hobby Barista & Blogger. Occasionally quirky & Maple is seriously my real name.

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

vinicooksveg

Amazing & fun.........Indian cooking!!

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Playful and hungry

Delicious food - a playful approach!

Sprouted Kitchen

Eating plant-based for 30 days - just because.

VeganYumYum

Another Tasty Vegan Flog

